review: Doing It For Love

24683239

The first in a trio, can be read as a standalone. Written by Cassie Mae, who I’ve personally experienced is an author that can actually make me smile and laugh out loud.

Cassie Mae’s charming, sexy new novel, perfect for fans of Emma Chase, puts a steamy twist on modern love as one bride-to-be tries to put the spark back in the bedroom—by any means necessary.
Elizabeth Fanning’s life looks pretty perfect, judging by the diamond ring on her finger. Her fiancé, Landon, is sweet, handsome, and hilarious. The trouble is, before they’ve even tied the knot, their sex life has gone from mind-blowing to “meh”—and Liz isn’t ready to be part of an old married couple. After a cathartic call to her best friend, Liz comes up with a brilliant idea. She and Landon may never be able to re-create the magic of their first time, but how amazing would their wedding night be if everything below the neck was off-limits until then?
Liz thinks it’ll bring them closer together. Landon’s convinced she’ll cave first. So they raise the stakes: Whoever lasts longer gets to pick their honeymoon destination. With her heart set on the Bahamas and Landon fighting for snowbound Utah, Liz simply has to win. But pretty soon, her body is screaming for attention, and Landon’s never seemed so far away. Has Liz’s experiment backfired? Losing their little competition would be frustrating—but the one thing she can’t afford to lose is him.

Cassie Mae

7064948

Cassie Mae is the author of a few hundred… okay, maybe not that many… books. Some of which became popular for their quirky titles, characters, and stories. She likes writing about nerds, geeks, the awkward, the fluffy, the short, the shy, the loud, the fun.
Since publishing her bestselling debut, Reasons I Fell for the Funny Fat Friend, she has published and sold books to Random House, Swoon Romance, and is the founder of CookieLynn Publishing Services. She is represented by Sharon Pelletier at Dystel and Goderich Literary Management. She has a favorite of all her book babies, but no, she won’t tell you what it is. (Mainly because it changes depending on the day.)
Along with writing, Cassie likes to binge watch Once Upon A Time and The Flash. She can quote Harry Potter lines quick as a whip. And she likes kissing her hubby, but only if his facial hair is trimmed. She also likes cheesecake to a very obsessive degree.

REVIEW: 4 stars

“I don’t want you to think I’m just trying to get in your pants. I want in your brain too.”

I don’t know why I even wasted time putting off this book. It was sweet and laughable – many moments made me genuinely laugh out loud. The author is one I’ve read before and I don’t know why I would’ve expected less – the first novel I read by this author was Switched. It was just as funny as this one – I may’ve enjoyed this more.

The main premise of the book was one of a common problem I’ve heard of many couples over time. The relationship get stronger, but the sex gets… well less then. It’s normal – there’s social science research to back it up. Passionate love will over time decrease and companionate love increases over time.

cci09032010_00004

Anyway, now that I’m done nerding out…

The book was relatable and the author did a great job on supporting characters. I pray that one of the books following this is about Alec and Theresa. Please Cassie Mae, please. The tension and humour from Landon’s side of the family was hilarious. His mother hated Liz and his father was just confused.

“I bet Helen wonders if one of us needs a green card.”

And I think my favourite laugh out loud moment was when Liz and Landon announced their wedding date to Mr. Wangford.

“We’ve set the date for Jan-” “The baby is due in January?” Mr. Wangford says, eyes wide…

I like the realness of the novel – Liz and Landon fight because, yes that happens in real life. Liz worries that they don’t have passion, and Landon is oblivious. I love the realness, this is exactly why I will continue to read Cassie Mae. Amazing writing with comedy throughout and some steamy scenes.

giphy2

The best part of the novel is that there is already past between Landon and Liz; the novel wasn’t lengthly and wasted on trying to create how they meet and getting to know one another. This way I’m not judging if they’re going to fast or any of the stuff that can usually cause waves for me.

pierced reader

2 thoughts on “review: Doing It For Love

Leave a Reply

