review: Once She Dreamed

32597175

The first in a series of two novels about Sammy Jo Knox. Sammy Jo Knox is from Moulton, Alabama, and has always had a desire to escape to the big city and find more. Written by one of my personal favourite authors, Abbi Glines (the author of the Sea Breeze series and Rosemary Beach series).

Everyone in the small country town where Sammy Jo Knox had been born and raised, never left. They made their life there. Got married, had kids, lived in the same houses that were always there along the streets that never changed. The whole white picket fence and tree swing might look good on greeting cards but in real life it was boring, at least to Sammy Jo.
When Sammy Jo was a little girl she began dreaming of something bigger. Brighter. Something that wasn’t her town. She wanted to see the world and experience it all. Just how she was going to do that she had no idea. Because if her momma had her way, she’d marry one of the boys in town and be spitting out babies and going to church on Sunday with them all lined up in a row.
The day Hale Christopher Jude III walked into the bakery she worked at, she knew he was it. That part of life she was missing. He smelled of foreign places and exciting things. He represented all the bright lights she dreamed of and simply put, she hoped he was her way out of this place.
What Sammy Jo didn’t realize was things that appear perfect… aren’t. And chasing her dreams could lead to something very different.

Abbi Glines

4872191

Abbi Glines is a #1 New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of the Rosemary Beach, Sea Breeze, Vincent Boys, Field Party and Existence series. She never cooks unless baking during the Christmas holiday counts. She believes in ghosts and has a habit of asking people if their house is haunted before she goes in it. She drinks afternoon tea because she wants to be British but alas she was born in Alabama. When asked how many books she has written she has to stop and count on her fingers. When she’s not locked away writing, she is reading, shopping (major shoe and purse addiction), sneaking off to the movies alone, and listening to the drama in her teenagers lives while making mental notes on the good stuff to use later. Don’t judge.
You can connect with Abbi online in several different ways. She uses social media to procrastinate.

REVIEW: 3 stars

 I feel that maybe I’m being to hard on this book. But then I remember the ending.

giphy

I love Abbi Glines; I haven’t given one of her books a rating lower then 4 in a very (very, very) long time. I’ve read every book she’s released as a New Adult contemporary romance and loved the entire journey. I’ve been eagerly waiting for what comes next and when I saw that she ALREADY had not one BUT TWO books released?? I went to Amazon and bought it on kindle right away. First off they felt very easy to read (which I found out is because they’re novellas which I obviously didn’t know), so that was a plus. However, I expected more. Normally I love Abbi’s characters, and their counterparts. Something about Sammy Jo bothered me.

Sammy Jo Knox was so encompassed about leaving Moulton it was sickening. Her character also really annoyed me in the fact that she contradicted herself a couple times. She also was too perfect; I’m assuming this is something I’m starting to notice because of my getting older. The contradiction was how Sammy Jo “never lies”. It’s seen throughout the first 50%. Most important when Hale comes into the cupcake shop and asks her recommendation for dessert, and she thinks to herself that she never lies and couldn’t recommend because she’s never tried them. Then, when Hale asks her out, she says to herself that she’d “lie to Momma if I have to”. Ohhh that made me very angry.

Hale I didn’t like, wasn’t charmed by in the least. It was around 85% of the story that I decided against reading the second because of how shitty Hale was. I hated him and everything that came with his character (the money, the clothes, the penthouse, blah blah blah). Then all of a sudden Hale wants to be all “I love you” to ‘Samantha’ and just make out with her. That wasn’t even the worst, it’s that Sammy believed it was so romantic and shit.giphy1

By the end of the book I was ready to toss my computer at a wall, and Sammy all of a sudden turns this book into a New Adult real fast. It was awkward, out of place, and overall a disappointment. I will be reading the second one.

Leave me a comment linking to your review, whether its on goodreads or your blog!

pierced reader

Leave a Reply

